Finishing the Hat *

And I was doing so well with posting regularly!  Then six weeks of nothing…

So here are two and a half hats….the poor Scotsman’s trilby is still waiting for petersham and wire to correct its floppy brim, but I did finally finish the first blocked full size felt hat ie the red cloche with embroidered petal decoration, and the sinamay ‘mermaids hat’.

Three hatsI have now started the final term at college – this term it is pattern cutting and fabric hats.  We start by making a toile for a skullcap and a butcher boy cap in calico, and then on to making a fabric trilby.  I am hoping that I will be allowed to use some thin leather from an old battered leather coat, but I fear that Karen will say it is too much for the sewing machine to cope with.  Ah yes!  The dreaded sewing machine.  I’m not at all sure about this….

* I tip my hat to Stephen Sondheim for the title….

 

2 thoughts on “Finishing the Hat *

Leave a Reply

