What are you going to do with it?

It’s often what people ask when they see me with a piece of embroidery in my hands.  The answer usually is ‘I haven’t got a clue’.  That’s not why I do it… When I make felt  I am often thinking about functionality as well as what it looks like…hats, bags, jewellery, slippers (if I ever get them finished.)  I am aiming for the William Morris ‘useful and beautiful’…

But I embroider because I like the process.  Most of all I like it because it is SLOW and contemplative…and about as far away from sitting at a computer as you can get!!  I am often to be found during my lunch break french knotting away happily, and I enjoy my Thursday evenings sitting with a group of other women in my regular class occasionally chatting and slowly producing beautiful things.

DSCF7614

This is what I am working on at the moment.  It’s based on a Klimpt landscape and it is pretty much all knots and straight stitches.  I love knots (except the ones I get by mistake!)  I painted it onto calico before I started and am gradually working out how to shade just using the knots like my own version of pointillism. 

I think the ‘frame’, which is currently mostly covered by the embroidery frame, is going to branch out into chain stitch and couching so I can add some gold thread.

Leave a Reply

