And its a brand New Year

I’m not a big one for New Year resolutions…..but I am hoping to post a bit more!  The trouble with not being at work is I tend to avoid the computer (given the chance to not sit at one for seven or eight hours a day….)  It’s been a quietish time with Christmas
DSCF6419 And a final visit to the house at Coudray Road to look at the winter garden…DSCF6527Very little creating happened although I did make a trip to the Bead Shop / Delicate Stitches in Kentish Town and now have plenty of embroidery wool as well as some wool silk mix to supplement my cotton and silk alpacca threads.  The embroidery pouch never materialised although I did do a bit of needle lace for my current embroidery…

The only major thing I seem to have done apart from the general festivities is to re organise my bookshelves.  I need to fit in the extra books from my parent’s house which I have inherited.  To me getting rid of books is a bit like having teeth pulled….I think we have at least one jam packed bookshelf in every room apart from the bathroom – which is too small (Freudian slip just typed ‘a bookshop in every room’) so fitting more in is not easy….but there is now a pile of books on the living room floor waiting to go to charity….for example I finally convinced myself that if I ever managed to face reading ‘Jude the Obscure’ I could buy another copy for next to nothing…and that someone who isn’t really a writer doesn’t need about twenty books about writing (although I have kept about 15 of them as they are just so entertaining to read…)

So here we go off into 2013…..and I’m certainly hoping for a more cheerful and peaceful year full of creative things…

Leave a Reply

