Feltmaking Party on Sunday

About a month ago I was demonstrating at Lauderdale House Craft Fair when I met Nayeli and her little sister Artemis, who were really interested in watching me making felt

Their mother asked me if we would be interested in doing a session at Nayeli’s eighth birthday party in July and in a mad moment I said yes….mostly because I thought the girls were delightful and loved their enthusiasm!  Which is how the Scotsman and I ended up doing a workshop for 11 eight year olds and one almost 6 year old last Sunday.

Making Prefelt bagAs we only had an hour I made prefelt bags, and some prefelt circles, petals, leaves, sprinkles etc and took lots of wool bits along so that the girls could concentrate on the fun part of making a surface design, and then do the felting and fulling.

We learnt a lot from the workshop ;

a)  Twelve is  really too many for two (inexperienced) people and a domestic  kitchen to handle! – I spent my time dashing from person to person and wasn’t able to help some people as much as I would have liked…and an hour and a half would have been more realisitic timescale as we ran over.

Table set out for a felting partyb)  Felting is a really easy process to understand – everyone ‘got it’ with the minimun of explanation.

c) The girls really seemed to enjoy the chance to  chose a three or four colours and have them carded together into their own special mix- even the most unlikely combinations end up looking really interesting.  They also seemed to be having real fun throwing the felt to full it – and in some cases hitting it with their foam rollers and even jumping up and down on it (in bare feet!)!

d) Without exception the girl’s designs were colourful, imaginative and creative – and all really different too…I’m only sorry that I was so busy at the end rinsing, tidying and attaching the felt ropes handles I had brought along that I didn’t have time to take photos of them…

Instead here is a picture of the samples I made  to take along to give them some ideas.

A red and a purple sample bag

Small sample bags

A big thank you to Patricia for giving us the opportunity  allowing two strangers to invade her kitchen. (Oh and a big thank you to John who was brilliant at flagging up to me where someone needed some support and at clearing up while I was doing the last bit on the bags.)

I always thought I would never really want to teach but it was quite good fun.  I was too busy to be scared and seeing at that youthful creativity was really inspiring!

 

Leave a Reply

