Nunofelt Scarves

I went to Goldhawk Road in Shepherds Bush to buy some silk last week from Classic Textiles in Goldhawk Road – an excellent place to buy inexpensive silk and other fabrics so I have been trying out some nunofelt techniques for scarf making.  For once I have been making samples rather than just pitching in.

Two samples of Nunofelt on silk in purples

Samples of one sided Nunofelt on silk

Back of one sided Nunofelt samples

I like the fronts of these samples but think the backs aren’t very interesting.  ‘The Scotsman’ (my other half) came up with a useful suggestion though.  He said “Why don’t you put some of the pattern on the front and some on the back so you will see part wool and part shadow on each side…. Seems like a great idea so I will be trying it.

Meantime I tried a doublesided scarf on silk.

Double sided silk and felt scarf

It makes a heavier weight of scarf but its still quite light so again I think its a goer.  I am also trying to make some lighter colours as I tend to be drawn to rich strong colour – I need to explore my pastel side a bit more!

Next I had a go at some ‘cobweb’ felt using silk hankies as a base – ie very fine felt with a lot of silk fibre in it.  Think this needs more work….

Finally I had a go at network felt where you purposely leave holes in the felt.  This turned out quite well – not really a summer scarf but I could do some great things with pseudo tartan come the autumn – lots of possibilities….

Network Felt

Watch this space and my Etsy site for scarves to appear….but The Scotsman has arrived home and tells me he has bought beer (as it has been a long wet Monday) so maybe I won’t start anything this evening…..

ps I believe the block of shops that Classic Textiles is in is threatened with demolition in order to put up flats.  These are mostly family owned stores including an old fashioned pie and mash shop – there is a campaign to save them with a facebook group  at  Save 30-52 Goldhawk Road from Demolition

Leave a Reply

