Hello Highgate….

Hello to anyone who came to my stall yesterday at Lauderdale House and bought something or talked to me and John.  Thanks for all the generous comments about my work…..

John refused to let me take a photo of him in his silly sheep hat, but here I am with the stall (I must remember to wear some blusher next time I do an outside stall in a strong wind!!)

Tess with stall

Me in front of my stall in my May Day Hat

Demonstrating feltmaking on a windy day was  ‘interesting’-  keeping the light plastic templates and fluffy pulled fleece on the table long enough to weight them down with some soapy water was the first challenge!

Tess making Felt at May Day Fair 2011

Me making felt at Lauderdale House on May Day

I  managed to make three snall bags – they are still a bit damp in the picture below  so the colours may change as they dry.

I particularly like the one on the right.  I incorporated quite a lot of ”dyed silk hankies’ which I bought last year at the Knitting and Stiching Show at Alexandra Palace.

They made such a  lovely almost stained glass effect that I didn’t want to cover them up with a thin layer of wool as I originally intended and so the bag is quite fine in texture.   Alas – I believe the company I bought the silk from were visiting from New Zealand so I will have to see if I can find them online!!

Three small felt bags made at a Craft Fair

My three new bags

Leave a Reply

