‘Henry Moore’ Bag

Yesterday I made a new bag which I think has a 1950s feel to it – perhaps I absorbed ideas from a book I read recently on Henry Moore’s textile designs..

Turquoise Bag laid out before it has been felted

Turquoise Bag laid out before it has been felted

It has pieces of  ‘silk hankie’ between the layers of wool to strengthen it and  to give some extra texture.  The darker patches are silk chiffon so there are elements of nunofelt…. and the inside is a dark greenish turquoise.

Bag being felted around a piece of pipe lagging

Bag being felted around a piece of pipe lagging

Once I had felted and fulled the bag I cut a a oblong of thick polestyrene packing (that I found in a load of packing materials someone was throwing out). I stretched the wet bag  over the block to experiment with shaping it in the same way that I would shape a hat on a hat block.

I’m pleased with the way it has turned out.  Now I just need to make a handle.  I really must get into making integral handles!!   I know how but I hate making felt ropes so I keep avoiding it…..

Turquoise Bag stretched and dried

Turquoise Bag stretched and dried

Leave a Reply

