Magnolias

At the weekend I noticed that the Magnolias are out in London….seems very early this year.

Magnolia tree against a blue sky

Magnolia Tree

My love of them dates from childhood.  There was an illustration in my Children’s Treasury of Verse  with  a quote under it from William Brightly Rand’s poem ‘The First of June’…As a shy, dreamy child the melancholy verse  appealed to me.

‘Magnolia like a stranger stands stiffly all alone.

I think a word would change her into a flower of stone.’

 

As an adult I love their waxy delicacy and the fact that they are around for such a short time.

And so every year I go Magnolia hunting……..

Two magolias close up

A pair of Magnolia flowers

Leave a Reply

